

News Release

Civil service changes underline government commitment to economic prosperity and Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit

IQALUIT, Nunavut, March 10, 2004 – The appointment of a new Nunavut cabinet and structural changes to government operations are being complemented by changes to the senior levels of the public service.

The assignment of new roles strengthens Premier Paul Okalik's efforts to enhance economic prosperity and promote Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit.

"The moves I am announcing today continue the trend of increasing Inuit representation at the most senior level of the Government of Nunavut bureaucracy. Increasing Inuit representation will equip us to design programs and services that meet the needs of all Nunavummiut," Okalik said.

The senior management changes include the promotion of three Inuit assistant deputy ministers. They are:

- Simon Awa, who leaves the former Department of Sustainable Development to become Deputy Minister of the new Department of Environment;
- David Akeeagok who leaves the Department of Finance to become Deputy Minister of the Department of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth; and
- Kathy Okpik, who leaves the Department of Education to become Deputy Minister of the Department of Human Resources.

Three deputy ministers are being moved to new responsibilities. They are:

- Tom Rich, who becomes Deputy Minister of the new Department of Community and Government Services. He was Deputy Minister of the former Department of Community Government and Transportation;
- Bobby Gunn, who moves from the former Department of Public Works and Services to become President of Qulliq Energy Corp.; and
- Alex Campbell, who leaves the former Department of Sustainable Development to head the new Department of Economic Development and Transportation.

Two new Inuit ADMs are joining the government – Pauloosie Suvega, who joins the Department of Finance, and Phoebe Hainnu, who becomes an ADM at the Department of Education.

Three ADMs are being given new responsibilities. They are:

- Naullaq Arnaquq, who moves to the Department of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth from the Department of Executive;
- Tom Thompson, who moves to the Department of Human Resources from the Department of Justice; and
- Anthony Saez, who moves to the Department of Justice from the Department of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth.

Four ADMs are being transferred to newly-created departments. They are:

- David Akoak, who joins the Department of Community and Government Services from the former Department of Public Works and Services;
- Shawn Maley, who joins the Department of Community and Government Services from the former Department of Community Government and Transportation;
- Rosemary Keenainak, who joins the Department of Economic Development and Transportation from the former Department of Sustainable Development; and
- Methusalah Kunuk, who joins the Department of Economic Development and Transportation from the former Department of Community Government and Transportation.

-30-

For more information:

Bill Clay Press Secretary Office of the Premier (867) 975-5059