

## News Release

## Nunavut Volunteer Award Winners Announced

**IQALUIT, Nunavut** (**April 19, 2005**) – This year's Nunavut Volunteer Awards were handed out today by the Honourable Louis Tapardjuk, Minister of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth. Recipients were chosen in youth, adult, elder and group categories.

"Nunavut's volunteers are important to our communities. By donating their time and skills to the community, they improve our quality of life and make our territory a happier place to live," said Minister Tapardjuk. "It's important to recognize the efforts of those who give so much and the Nunavut Volunteer Awards program acknowledges these special people."

Terry Aknavigak of Cambridge Bay received the Youth Award. Aknavigak has been coaching and managing a basketball group in his community for seven years. He has given countless hours to helping his community, and his dedication proves he is a valuable role model.

Bryon Doherty of Iqaluit was given the Adult Award for his work with the Nunavut Kamatsiaqtut Help Line, Iqaluit Centennial Library and Rotary Club. He is active as a volunteer at Inuksuk High School, where he is also a teacher. Doherty has selflessly devoted more than 500 hours to volunteering in the last year.

Meeka Alivaktuk of Pangnirtung was given the Elder Award for her efforts with the Saputiit Society to help prevent suicide. Alivaktuk is also the chairperson of the Pujualusait group, which provides healing programs for students of residential schools. She recently organized events in her community to help raise funds for the victims of the tsunami.

The Baker Lake Tear Drop Youth Group received the Group Award. Grace Tagoona and Eric Tapatai have worked tirelessly over the past year to promote suicide prevention and awareness for youth. They also provide foster care for children and respite care for young single mothers in the community.

The Nunavut Volunteer Awards are presented annually. Nomination forms are available by e-mail at <a href="wolunteerawards@gov.nu.ca">wolunteerawards@gov.nu.ca</a>, on line at <a href="www.gov.nu.ca/cley">www.gov.nu.ca/cley</a> or through local recreation coordinators.

-30-

For more information, contact: Catriona Whitworth Communications Officer (867) 975-5512