

News Release

Second Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit Katimajiit Council Appointed

IQALUIT, Nunavut (**September 7, 2005**) – Honourable Louis Tapardjuk, Minister of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth is pleased to announce the appointment of the second council of the Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit Katimajiit. These appointments reaffirm the Government of Nunavut's commitment to incorporating Inuit Societal Values to meet the priorities set out in *Pinasuaqtavut*.

"I would like to thank all previous members of the Katimajiit for their tireless efforts and valuable advice over the past two years and for working to ensure Inuit Societal Values are incorporated into government policies," said Minister Tapardjuk. "This second council is sure to continue building upon the foundation their predecessors have laid."

Minister Tapardjuk announced the appointment of 15 members to the Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit Katimajiit.

The newly appointed members are: Elik Tologanak of Cambridge Bay; Arnaoyok Alookee of Taloyoak; Jimmy Muckpah of Arviat; Simon Nattaq of Iqaluit; Percy Pikuyak of Hall Beach; Cecelia Angotialuk of Repluse Bay; Jaycopie Ikalujuaq of Clyde River; and Peeturusi Kaapi of Pangnirtung.

Members serving for a second term are: Miriam Nilaulaq Aglukkaq of Gjoa Haven; Jackie Napayok of Whale Cove; Mary Ann Tattuinee of Rankin Inlet; Rynie Audla of Sanikiluaq; Kananginak Pootoogook of Cape Dorset; and George Qulaut of Iglulik.

Each member will serve on the council for a three-year term.

The Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit Katimajiit will continue to provide advice to government departments to help develop and deliver programs and services within the context of Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, and suggest approaches for improving governmental progress on those issues.

-30-

For more information contact:
Catriona Whitworth
Communications Officer, Department of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth

(867) 975-5512

cwhitworth@gov.nu.ca