

News Release

Minister Announces Appointment of Directors For Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

IQALUIT, Nunavut (**November 9, 2007**) – Minister of Economic Development and Transportation David Simailak announced today the appointment of four new directors to the board of the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation.

Mr. Peter Ma, Mr. David Omilgoitok, Ms. Aluki Rojas and Mr. Markus Weber have been appointed directors, each for a one-year term.

"I am confident that with these appointments, the Board of Directors at the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation will act vigorously and quickly to make the changes we need," said Simailak.

Mr. Peter Ma has also been designated interim Chairperson.

The new directors are members of the Crown Agency Council Deputy Ministers Committee of the Government of Nunavut. They will serve on the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation board on an interim basis to help ensure full compliance with the recommendations from the recent report of the Office of the Auditor General of Canada on the activities of the corporation.

The four new directors join Mr. Alex Buchan of Cambridge Bay, Mr. Lorne Kusugak of Rankin Inlet, and Mr. Tommy Owlijoot of Arviat, who already serve on the Board. Mr. Buchan has been designated interim Vice-Chair.

This action will allow the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation to resume its lending activities.

-30-

For more information, contact:

John Lamb
Executive Assistant to Minister Simailak **(a)** (867) 975-5038