

## News Release

## Minister announces Social Assistance (Income Support) Appeal Board appointments

**IQALUIT, Nunavut (December 16, 2009)** - The Honourable Louis Tapardjuk, Minister of Education, today announced the appointment of eight Nunavummiut to the Social Assistance (Income Support) Appeal Board. Under the *Social Assistance Act*, the Board is responsible for hearing formal appeals on matters concerning the issuance of Income Support across Nunavut.

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of the Nunavut Social Assistance Appeal Board," Minister Tapardjuk said. "Citizens who need assistance through income support can have their application reviewed if they are not in agreement with a local appeal decision. Every income support applicant has the right to be heard in a fair and objective manner, no matter where they live in the territory," said Tapardjuk. "This reflects our Government's commitment in the *Tamapta* mandate that everyone should have their basic needs met."

The members of the Social Assistance Appeal Board are:

- Jack Anawak, Iqaluit
- Zeke Ejetsiak, Cape Dorset
- Ammie Kipsigak, Hall Beach
- Sara Minogue, Iqaluit
- Gordon Rennie, Iqaluit
- Phoebe Sowdluapik, Pangnirtung
- Andre Tautu, Chesterfield Inlet
- Nancy Uluadluak, Arviat

Jack Anawak has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Board, and Phoebe Sowdluapik has been appointed as Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Each year over 6,000 Nunavut households, representing over 15,000 citizens, participate in programs supported by the income support program. Income support programs include social assistance, senior's fuel subsidy, territorial senior's subsidy, day care user subsidy and transition to work assistance, as well as training initiatives.

###

## For more information call:

Sandy Teiman Director, Income Support € (867) 975-5680

Les communiqués de presse sont disponibles en inuktitut, en anglais, en inuinnaqtun et en français à : www.gov.nu.ca.