

News Release

Premier appoints new members to the Status of Women Council

IQALUIT, Nunavut (**September 18, 2009**) – The Honourable Eva Aariak, Premier and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, has appointed four new members to the Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council.

"The Council has an important role in bringing forward women's perspectives on current issues," said Aariak. "The Council is dynamic and the experience that each new member brings will enhance its ability to improve the lives of women in Nunavut. "In addition," added Aariak, "this will help us in fulfilling our goals of building healthy communities as set out in our government's vision under *Tamapta/CL^cC: Building our future together*."

The four new members that have been appointed are: Donna Adams (Rankin Inlet), Angela Hovak Johnston (Kugluktuk), Martha Aupaluktuq-Hickes (Baker Lake), and Maude Bertrand (Iqaluit). These appointments are for a two-year term.

Current members of the Council include: Acting President Neevee Wilkins (Iqaluit) and members Bernadette Miqusaaq Dean (Rankin Inlet), Meeka Alivaktuk (Pangnirtung), Annie Iqalukjuak (Clyde River), and Trista Mercer (Iqaluit).

Qulliit's mandate is to work for the equality of all women in Nunavut by providing advice to government, research, public education and advocacy. The new Council has already set to work on their priorities through the recently held Women in Municipal Elections Workshop in Iqaluit. The new Council will meet in November.

###

For More Information Contact:

Rian van Bruggen Manager, Women's Secretariat Government of Nunavut (867) 975-6018 Shylah Elliott Executive Director Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women (867) 979-6690