

Cooperation Accord Unites Northern Voices

IQALUIT, NUNAVUT (September 5, 2009) – Canada's northern premiers today renewed the *Northern Cooperation Accord* which promotes cooperation among the three territorial governments on matters of mutual interest while enhancing the working relationship among the jurisdictions.

Nunavut Premier Eva Aariak, Yukon Premier Dennis Fentie and Northwest Territories Premier Floyd Roland renewed the accord at their annual Northern Premiers Forum.

One goal of the *Northern Cooperation Accord* is to strengthen pan-territorial relationships. The Northern Vision is one example of the work that resulted from this collaborative relationship. The accord is so successful that this is the second renewal of the three-year accord.

Premiers are united in their view that speaking with one northern voice, both nationally and internationally, has increased the profile of the North within Canada and abroad, and is critical to building a strong, sustainable North.

"Our governments and people have a strong history of working together," Premier Aariak said. "We believe that northern voices must advance northern issues."

The premiers maintained an ongoing focus on climate change. Specifically, they discussed territorial approaches to climate change adaptation. They also confirmed their participation at the upcoming United Nations conference on climate change negotiations (COP 15), to be held in Denmark this December.

"Canada and the world must understand the impact that climate change is having on the North and its people," Premier Fentie said. "COP 15 will provide an excellent opportunity for the territories to provide input into the national and international strategies to deal with climate change."

Premiers acknowledged the increased attention that Arctic issues are receiving and announced plans to meet with the Canadian Permanent Participants on the Arctic Council. These include the Arctic Athabaskan Council, the Gwich'in Council International and the Inuit Circumpolar Council. The Arctic Council is an increasingly important international forum that includes member states of Canada, United States, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russian Federation and Sweden.

"Our governments place a priority on engaging with our Aboriginal partners and we believe we share common interests that could be better advanced through a unified Northern position," Premier Roland said.

- 30 -

Media Inquiries:

Bruce Rigby Principal Secretary Premier's Office Government of Nunavut 867-975-5059 Roxanne Vallevand Cabinet Communications Premier's Office Government of Yukon 867- 667-7949 Drew Williams Director, Communications Premier's Office Government of the NWT 867- 669-2304