

News Release

Minister Taptuna announces changes to NBCC Board

IQALUIT, Nunavut (August 6, 2010) – Peter Taptuna, Minister Responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation (NBCC), today announced changes in the membership of the corporation's board of directors.

Nancy Karetak Lindell (Arviat), Donald Havioyak (Kugluktuk), Marg Epp (Cambridge Bay), and Wayne Solomon (Cambridge Bay) have been appointed as directors of the NBCC. Each will serve a term of three years.

Greg Cayen (Iqaluit) will replace Alex Buchan (Cambridge Bay) as the NBCC's chairperson. Nancy Karetak Lindell will serve as vice-chair of the corporation.

"The appointments are reflective of Nunavut's regions and demographics," said Minister Taptuna. "Each new board member brings a unique skill set to the corporation and this will enhance the board's ability to make sound decisions and support economic development in the territory."

In addition, Tommy Owlijoot (Arviat) and Allan Lahure (Baker Lake) will continue as directors of the corporation.

Minister Taptuna thanks outgoing board members Alex Buchan, Paul Quassa (Igloolik), Afzal Currimbhoy (Yellowknife), Sherril Minns (Moncton) and Andre Schroer (Port Credit) for their valuable contributions to the corporation.

Backgrounder attached.

###

For more information, contact:

Matthew Illaszewicz
Manager, Communications
Economic Development & Transportation
867-975-7818
millaszewicz@gov.nu.ca

News releases are available in Inuktitut, English, Inuinnaqtun and French on www.gov.nu.ca.

Tuhaqtaghat ittut Inuktitut, Qablunaatitut, Inuinnaqtun Uiviititullu talvani www.gov.nu.ca.

Les communiqués de presse sont disponibles en inuktitut, en anglais, en inuinnaqtun et en français à : www.gov.nu.ca.

Communications 2010-41-C