

## **News Release**

## **Premier Congratulates New NTI Board Members**

**IQALUIT, Nunavut (December 14, 2010) –** Premier Eva Aariak today congratulated the newly elected members of the Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. Board of Directors. Cathy Towtongie was elected president, and James Eetoolook and Jack Anawak were elected vice-presidents in yesterday's election.

"I would like to offer Ms. Towtongie, Mr. Eetoolook and Mr. Anawak my warmest congratulations on their recent election," said Premier Eva Aariak. "The working relationship between the Government of Nunavut and Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. has shown great strength in recent years. We are collaborating on a number of issues that are vital to the future of our territory, including poverty reduction, suicide prevention and devolution. I am confident that the newest members of NTI will build on this important work and I look forward to sitting down together to discuss our next steps."

Premier Aariak also offered her congratulations to all the candidates who ran in the election and is pleased to see that there was an increase in voter turn-out.

###

## For More Information Contact:

Emily Woods Press Secretary Premier's Office 867-975-5059