## **NEWS RELEASE**





NR 11-23 KAK ENG - For Immediate Release

## **Kakiniit Grants Recipients Announced**

(*July 8, 2011 -- Iqaluit, Nunavut*) Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. President Cathy Towtongie and Nunavut Premier Eva Aariak today announced the names of the recipients of the Kakiniit Grants program.

Caroline Ipeelie-Qiatsuk – Cape Dorset
Eva Noah – Baker Lake
Nakasuk Alariaq – Cape Dorset
Sandra Pijamini – Grise Fiord
Leslie Qammaniq – Pond Inlet
Emily Karpik – Iqaluit
Marie Belleau - Iqaluit
Teevi Mackey – Ottawa
Romani Makkik - Iqaluit
Annabella Piugaituk – Iqaluit

The grants program awards \$1,000 to five students seeking to improve their cultural or traditional skills and \$1,000 to five students enrolled in academic training at a post-secondary institution. Beneficiaries of the *Nunavut Land Claims Agreement* (NLCA) are eligible for the scholarship programs.

"The Kakiniit Grants program is an indication of the importance NTI places upon supporting cultural and academic educational opportunities for Inuit," said Towtongie. "The program has been a resounding success."

"The success of our students will have a direct impact on Nunavut's future, which is why our government has been pleased to support the Kakiniit Grant program," said Premier Aariak. "Congratulations to all of the recipients, and may your year be filled with many new skills and experiences."

This is the last year the Kakiniit Grants program will be offered. NTI replaced it with the Jose Amaujaq Kusugak Scholarship Program, which offers two Inuit students \$5,000 each to pursue post-secondary studies in education or Inuit language.

NTI News Release Page 2

## For further information:

Kerry McCluskey
Director of Communications
Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
Tel: (867) 975-4914 Toll-free: 1-888-646-0006
kmccluskey@tunngavik.com
www.tunngavik.com

Emily Woods Press Secretary to Premier Eva Aariak Government of Nunavut Tel: (867) 975-5059

ewoods@gov.nu.ca