

## News Release

## New appointments to the Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council

**IQALUIT, Nunavut** (November 9, 2011): Donna Adams, President of the Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council is pleased to announce recent changes to the Council Board.

Premier Eva Aariak, Minister Responsible for the Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women has appointed three new members to serve a two year term with Qulliit. Jean Simailak (Baker Lake), Mary Kayasark (Kugaaruk) and Tamara Ohokannoak (Cambridge Bay) have been selected to represent women in Nunavut on the Qulliit Council Board. They join current members Donna Adams, President (Rankin Inlet), Trista Mercer, Vice President (Iqaluit), Neevee Wilkins (Iqaluit) and Annie Iqalukjuak (Clyde River).

"I am honoured to appoint these three influential women to the Qulliit board," said Premier Aariak. "I know they will work hard to ensure equality for all women in Nunavut through advocacy, research and public education."

"I am thrilled with this announcement as we will be more complete as a council to do the important work we continue to do, said Donna Adams, President of the Council. "I am also very pleased that the GN applied our recommendation to select individuals that will represent all three regions, Kivalliq, Kitikmeot and Qikiqtani."

"On behalf of the Council, I would also like to extend our deepest gratitude to Maude Bertrand of Iqaluit and Martha Hickes of Baker Lake who have ended their terms with Qulliit Council Board," said Adams. "It was a pleasure working with you both and thank you for all of the work you did on behalf of families in Nunavut."

Qulliit's mandate is to work for the equality of all women in Nunavut through advocacy, research and public education. Council appointments reflect the geographic and cultural diversity of Nunavut.

###

## **Media Contact:**

Shylah Elliott Executive Director Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council (867) 979-6690 Pam Coulter
Director of Communications
Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
(867) 975-6049