

News Release

Premier welcomes new Members of Legislative Assembly

IQALUIT, Nunavut (September 13, 2011) – The Honourable Premier Eva Aariak, welcomed three newly elected Members to the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. By-elections were held yesterday in the constituencies of Iqaluit West, Pangnirtung and Tununiq.

Monica Ell (Iqaluit West), Hezakiah Oshutapik (Pangnirtung), and Joe Enook (Tununiq) will join the other 16 members for the next session of the Legislative Assembly which is scheduled from October 18 to November 1, 2011.

"I'd like to applaud all of those who ran in this by-election and congratulate our three new Members," said Premier Eva Aariak. "It has been some time since we've had a full caucus, and I look forward to returning to the House with a complete team to continue the work of our *Tamapta* mandate."

###

For More Information Contact:

Emily Woods
Press Secretary
Office of the Premier
(867) 975-5059
ewoods@gov.nu.ca